Bitcoin Research Prize

The Bitcoin research prize is awarded to recognize outstanding results that advance Bitcoin and the Lightning Network. The results can be in cryptography, theoretical computer science, network theory, economics and neighboring fields. A committee of leading researchers will choose the winners annually.

You can find the nomination form here.

Criteria for nomination

  • Accepted to a peer-reviewed venue
  • Published after January 1st, 2019
  • Relevant to Bitcoin or the Lightning Network

Prize Committee

  • Dan Boneh (Stanford)
  • Ethan Heilman (BastionZero)
  • Neha Narula (MIT)
  • Tim Ruffing (Blockstream Research)
  • Pieter Wuille (Chaincode Labs)
  • Aviv Zohar (HUJI)


  • How related to Bitcoin/LN does the paper need to be?

The paper does not need to be Bitcoin or Lightning Network focused, being applicable is enough. General results with wide influence are excellent candidates.

  • Is self nomination allowed?

Yes! Note that the “Nominator” in the form can be left empty.